St. Ansgar, Iowa June 14, 2021

The St. Ansgar Community School District is an Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Educational Agency.

The Board of Directors of the St. Ansgar Community School District met in regular session in the High School Media Center at 5:30 P.M.

Present: Directors Steve Groth, Will Morrow, Kyle Tabbert, Donna Brumm, and Lowanna Hannam. Director Falk participated electronically. Superintendent Mike Crozier. Secretary Emily Johnson-Woods. Principal Lynn Baldus. Principal Scott Cakerice. There was 1 guest present.

Absent: Director Bork.

The meeting was called to order by President Groth. Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve the Agenda as presented in packet with the addition of two bills, one for the Auditor, State of Iowa and one for Nolte, Cornman, and Johnson. Ayes-Morrow, Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam, Falk, and Groth. Nays-None.

Lindsey Falk addressed the scheduling conflicts with all the sports and make up games in the summer.

Communications: There were five communications. One was from Black Hills Energy notifying the School District of a request of rate increase, the second was from the St. Ansgar Girls' Golf Team who went to state thanking the board for their support, the third was a communication from Peg Tyler discussing the location of the bus barn's road that will cross the walking path, there was another communication from NIACC praising Mrs. Schwiesow and the awesome job she does with the students and curriculum, and there was a fifth communication from Stan Walk requesting a letter of support for a housing plan that he has with Schulz Construction.

There were no curriculum reports.

The Principal Reports were in the packet.

Superintendent Crozier thanked Kyle, Melody and Emily for serving at the end of the year picnic for staff.

Superintendent Crozier mentioned that there is a softball dedication on Wednesday, June 14, 2021. Many people were instrumental in the softball field and the District appreciates all their hard work.

Director Tabbert was contacted about renting the bleachers out by the Baseball field.

Hannam moved, duly 2nd by Brumm, to approve the Consent Action Items which included the following:

- Minutes from the May 10, 2021 regular school board meeting and May 17, 2021 Special Board Meeting.
- May 2021 Financial Statements.
- May bills, including prepays in the amount of \$376,864.06.
- Payroll in the amount of \$512,007.10 for May.
- Approve the TQ payment in the amount of \$1,000 to Kelli Hemann.
- Approve the TQ payment in the amount of \$1,000 to Sherri Hjelmeland.
- Approve the TQ payment in the amount of \$745 to Tori Steinberg.
- Approve the TQ payment in the amount of \$412.50 to Joan Muhs.
- Approve the TQ payment in the amount of \$300 to Connie Jenkins.
- Approve Colin Kramer as Volunteer Baseball Coach.
- Approve moving Penny Heimer to a 7 hour per day contract at the same rate previously approved per hour.
- Approve hiring Blair Hansen as a student worker in the amount of \$9.83 per hour.

- Approve offering Katie Hewitt a contract for Junior High Girls' Basketball Head Coach, at Step-0, in the amount of \$2,538.
- Approve offering Katie Hewitt a contract for MS/HS Counselor at BA+15-0 for the 2021-2022 School Year in the amount of \$46,816.
- Approve awarding \$100 Ralph Ramsay Scholarship check to Jack Sievert.
- Approve the Next Generation Technology Contract for the 2021-2022 School Year.
- Approve the contract for Educational Services for Concurrent Enrollment Career Link Programs & Courses.
- Approve the MTSS/SALT/Mentors payments of \$500 to Deneen Nelson, Justin Huisman, Deb Kramer, Diane Mayer, Craig Christensen, Joan Muhs, Jenni Brumm, Mary Wittenburg, Randy Mogk, Lynn Brigham, Amy Powers, Lisa Kruse, Jenna Jackson, and Brandi Meier.
- Approve the prepay of Nolte Conrman and Johnson Audit fee payment.
- Approve the prepay of the Auditor, State of Iowa Filing Fee.
- Approve the prepay of the Amazon bill to close out the LC Grant.
- Approve the resignation of Melody Tesch as Superintendent Secretary effective December 31, 2021.

Ayes-Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam, Falk, Groth, and Morrow. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve the German Club Fundraisers as presented in the packet. Ayes-Brumm, Hannam, Groth, Falk, Morrow, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to approve the breakdown insurance policy renewal from Specialty Underwriters with the computers and walk in coolers in the amount of \$64,661. Ayes-Hannam, Groth, Falk, Morrow, Tabbert, and Brumm. Nays-None.

Tabbert moved, duly 2nd by Morrow, to approve the second reading of the review of the board policy 701.2, 701.06, 701.5, 702, 703.1, 704.1, 704.5, 704.7, 706.2, 706.3, 707.2, 707.4, 707.5, 707.5R1, 708, 801.5, 803.1, 904.1, 905.1, 906.1, 906.2, add new policy 903.2, and rescind policy 705.7. Ayes-Groth, Falk, Morrow, Tabbert, Brumm, and Hannam. Nays-None.

Hannam moved, duly 2nd by Brumm, to accept the sealed bid from James Squier in the amount of \$400.01 for the Old White Pickup Truck. Ayes-Falk, Morrow, Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve a Facebook Auction of outdated and unused equipment. Ayes- Morrow, Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam, Groth, and Falk. Nays-None.

No action was taken on the ESSER III money.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Brumm, to approve the open enrollments as presented in the packet. Ayes- Tabbert, Brumm, Hannam, Groth, Falk, and Morrow. Nays-None.

The meeting adjourned at 6:07 P.M.

Attachments to the board minutes may be viewed at the Board Secretary's Office. There may be a charge for any copies that are requested.

Steve Groth, President

Emily Johnson-Woods, Board Secretary